Here & There


HERE & THERE
a short play by Scottie Campbell


Lights come up on two actors. They are in separate pools of light. When they speak it is forward to the audience as if they are looking directly at each other.

HERE
Hey

THERE
Hey!

HERE
Hey!

THERE
Hey!

HERE
Ohmigosh

THERE
I missed you

HERE
Ohmigosh. Ohmigosh. Ohmigosh!

THERE
I missed you

HERE
Ball.

THERE
I missed you.

HERE
Ball.

THERE
I  missed you.

HERE
Ball?

THERE
I miss…

HERE
Ball!

THERE
Wha…ball?

HERE
Ball

THERE
Yeah! Ball.

HERE
Ball

THERE
I don’t…

HERE
Ball

THERE
There isn’t.

HERE
WHAT?!

THERE
I don’t have a ball.

HERE
Can’t you just.

Here gestures around his head, There tries the gesture.

THERE
Doesn’t look like.

HERE
Ball?

THERE
No, sorry, buddy.

HERE
Shit.

THERE
Hey, now. I don’t want to disappoint you.

HERE
You come here and we play ball.

THERE
I come there and we play ball.

HERE
You come here and we play ball.

THERE
I come here. I’m trying to learn…

HERE
You haven’t learned. Here is here and you’re here.

Pause.

THERE
Ah, so this.

HERE
No, no. Already with that shit. No.

THERE
This is just a dream.

HERE
I’m not going.

THERE
Yeah, you’re a dream, because…

HERE
Why do you think this is okay?

THERE
Because you’re dead.

HERE
Yet, I’m here.

THERE
You’re dead.

HERE
Yet, here I am.

THERE
I still think…

HERE
Right on cue.

THERE
I still think it was too soon.

Pause.

THERE
What?

Pause.

THERE
What?

HERE
I’m trying to think of a way to say it so you’ll finally believe it.

THERE
What?

HERE
I was in pain. You saw me, I couldn’t stand up.

THERE
God, I can’t bear to remember it.

HERE
It was so peaceful. A shot and away I went.

THERE
Yeah.

HERE
In your arms.

THERE
In our arms.

HERE
Yes, how is he?

THERE
He misses you too.

HERE
Maybe, but he finds me here.

THERE
Do what?

HERE
Yeah, and a bit easier than you. And we don’t have to go through this routine.

THERE
Well, excuse me.

HERE
And he remembers the ball.

THERE
Son of a…

Pause.

HERE
It didn’t help, did it. You don’t believe.

THERE
I’m trying to get there.

HERE
That’s the problem. You need to get here.

THERE
I see that and I’m trying.

HERE
Meditate on it.

THERE
It’s alright to miss though.

HERE
Sure.

THERE
To miss your fur.

HERE
Yes.

THERE
To miss the way you looked at me.

HERE
Yes.

THERE
To miss the spooning.

HERE
I have to admit. I always knew I was inching you off the bed.


THERE
Jerk.

HERE
It kept you balanced.

Pause.

HERE
You’re still my hero.

THERE
Why?

HERE
Finding me there in the chain link. Taking me home. Loving me.

THERE
Probably will be the smartest decision I ever make.

HERE
Loving me, despite the shedding.

THERE
Why did I think that was a big deal?

HERE
Loving me even though I pulled with the leash.

THERE
Such a small thing now.

HERE
Loving me.


THERE
I think I have to go now.

HERE
Because it’s “just a dream.”

THERE
Yeah, and it hurts.

HERE
Go. Go. But know you can find me here.

THERE
Okay, okay.

HERE
One thing though.

THERE
Yes.

HERE
It’s about her.

THERE
Mom.

HERE
Try not to do this routine with her.

THERE
What do you mean?

HERE
The it’s “just a dream” routine.

THERE
But I realize it and…

HERE
And for fucksake don’t ever ask her not to come here.

THERE
I just asked her not to for a while. Because it hurt too much.

HERE
There’s heartache here too.

THERE
Didn’t think of that.

HERE
So next time, just go with it.

THERE
I’ll try. I’ll try to get there.

HERE
Try to get here.

THERE
Right, right. Anything else?

HERE
Lighten up. Lighten up in general. Take a little time to lick your balls now and then.

THERE
But I can’t lick…

Here is gone.

Here & There was originally performed in Orlando at Downtown Credo on Saturday, July 8, 2017 as part of Squeakfest 2017 produced by Pipsqueak Collective.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

